

## TO ALL COMMISSION MEMBERS, COOPERATING NON-MEMBERS, PARTICIPATING TERRITORIES AND OBSERVERS

Circular No.: 2022/03 Date: 2 February 2022

No of pages: 02

## Chair of ERandEMWG

Dear All,

As you may recall, at the 18<sup>th</sup> regular session of the WCPFC, the Commission endorsed Australia's continued chairing of the E-recording and E-monitoring Working Group (ERandEMWG) and that Australia will advise of the person to take on that role once identified.

I am pleased to advise that Australia has in the enclosed letter nominated Ms Claire van der Geest of the Australian Fisheries Management Authority to chair the ERandEMWG.

Those that are interested in participating in the ERandEMWG to please contact Ms Claire van der Geest at <u>claire.vandergeest@afma.gov.au</u> by Friday 18 February 2022.

Yours sincerely,

Feleti Penitala Teo, OBE

**EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR** 



Ref: EC22-000090

Mr Feleti Teo Executive Director Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission P.O. Box 2356, Kolonia, Pohnpei Federated States of Micronesia

Dear Mr Teo

As you are aware, the 18th session of the Commission endorsed Australia's continued chairing of the ERandEMWG, noting that Australia would identify the person as soon as practicable. Australia is pleased to continue to lead this important work on behalf of Members.

Australia has identified and is nominating Ms Claire van der Geest of the Australian Fisheries Management Authority (AFMA) to Chair the ERandEMWG. Ms van der Geest is well placed to lead the ERandEMWG through her role as General Manager of the Fisheries Information and Services Branch of AFMA, which oversees Australia's electronic monitoring program.

We request that the WCPFC Secretariat invite members who are interested in participating in the ERandEMWG to contact Ms van der Geest at <a href="mailto:claim.com/cla

Yours sincerely

Emma Campbell

8. Cphell

Australian Head of Delegation to the WCPFC